Meet the EdTA board candidates

May 22, 2014

The slate of candidates for the election of vice president/president and three EdTA board directors has been finalized at nine after the expiration of the filing period for ballot petitions. Members can vote for one candidate for vice president/president and three for the board director positions. The vice president/president serves four years on the board and two years as president of the Nominating Committee. Board terms are three years.

The vice president/president’s term will begin August 1, 2015. The top vote-getter in the board director election will take a seat with a term that begins August 1, 2014 and runs through July 31, 2017. The candidates who come in second and third in the balloting will take office on August 1, 2015 and serve through July 31, 2018.

The candidates for vice president/president are:
Debbie Corbin, Branson, Missouri
Leslie Van Leishout, Edwardsville, Illinois

The candidates for board director are:
Krista Carson Elhai, Claremont, California
John Friedenberg, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Molly Grasso, Papillion-La Vista, Nebraska
Marydell Merrill, Hartford, Connecticut
Linda Phillips, Avondale, Arizona
Ben Stuart, Seattle, Washington
Scott Walker, Milwaukie, Oregon

The candidates’ questionnaire responses and résumés can be found in the 2014 Board of Directors election entry of the About Us library.

Electronic voting will begin in late June and the election will conclude with paper balloting at the membership meeting during the EdTA National Conference in Cincinnati on July 26.