The Educational Theatre Association offers a variety of options to recognize student achievement through its scholarship opportunities. We are now accepting applications for the 2018-2019 school year. Attendance at the International Thespian Festival is not required for the following scholarships:

The Educational Theatre Association Board of Directors Scholarship is a one-time scholarship created with donations by, and in honor of, past and current members of the EdTA Board of Directors. One applicant will receive a one-time scholarship to be applied to tuition and fees associated with full-time enrollment at an accredited college or university. This award is intended for undergraduate students currently enrolled full-time at an accredited college or university who are upcoming sophomores, juniors, or seniors. Upcoming freshman and graduating seniors are not eligible.

The Austin Yeatman Technical Theatre Scholarship is a one-time scholarship for a graduating senior studying technical theatre in college.

The Jhon Marshall/International Thespian Officers’ Outstanding Student Achievement Scholarship is a one-time scholarship awarded to two graduating seniors who exemplify the ideals of the International Thespian Society.

The Bob and Marti Fowler Future Theatre Educator Scholarship is a one-time scholarship awarded to a student pursuing a theatre education major and who demonstrates leadership qualities, an excellent work ethic, the ability to work effectively as a member of a production team, strong character, academic ability, organizational skills, and experience in different aspects of theatre.

The Christopher L. Hunt Scholarship is a one-time scholarship created with donations in honor of the late Chris Hunt, Director of Marketing at EdTA. This scholarship is intended for inducted Thespians who plan to use skills learned through theatre in a career focused on business or marketing. 

The Educational Theatre Association Presidents’ Leadership Scholarship is a one-time scholarship created with donations from and in honor of past and current EdTA board presidents. This scholarship is intended for inducted Thespians who successfully demonstrate leadership abilities. 

The Michael J. Peitz Leadership Scholarship is a one-time scholarship awarded to an inducted Thespian of the International Thespian Society, the student honorary organization of the Educational Theatre Association, who successfully demonstrates leadership abilities.

The Alan D. Engelsman and Penny Lu Engelsman Scholarship is a one-time scholarship awarded to a high school senior that will be pursuing an education major in theatre, technical theatre, playwriting or English.

 At the International Thespian Festival (ITF), selected Thespians who are graduating seniors can audition for scholarship opportunities available in a variety of areas. These areas may include performance, technical theatre, theatre education, playwriting, and film. Additionally, the following named opportunities will be awarded at ITF:

The Amy Bennett Musical Theatre Scholarship is a one-time scholarship awarded to a graduating senior entering a college program to major in musical theatre.

Applications for these scholarships must be received by the ITF registration deadline.

Please contact with any questions.

To apply for any scholarship opportunity: