Nominating Committee Accepting Board Applications

By EdTA News posted 09-01-2020 14:15


The Educational Theatre Association Nominating Committee is accepting applications from prospective candidates for positions on the EdTA Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee will select a slate of candidates for two Board director positions and one Vice President/President position for an election that will be conducted online beginning in January 2021, and concluding in March 2021.

Any EdTA professional member, including Thespian troupe directors, is eligible to stand for election by filing a candidate vita form with the Nominating Committee. The committee has been instructed by the Board to seek two to four candidates for each of the three open seats.

“The EdTA Board invites leaders who want to serve our Association by setting policies which progress the mission of the Association and promote the growth of our organization,” EdTA Board President Gai Laing Jones said. “EdTA Board elected and appointed members are volunteers who develop strategies which benefit our students, theatre educators, theatre artists, and supporters. My hope is that you will consider this commitment.”

The filing deadline for all candidate vita forms is September 28 at 11:59pm PT.

The Board director positions have three-year terms. The VP/President will serve for a five-year term, two years as VP, two years as President, and one as Past President. All newly elected Board members will take office July 1, 2021.

The Nominating Committee is chaired by Board Past President Debbie Corbin. Members include Board Vice President Scott Wilson; Georgia Chapter Director Paul Hampton; Massachusetts Chapter Director Jessica Harms; at-large members Jim Hoare of New York, New York and Estella Owoimaha-Church of Los Angeles, California; Executive Director Julie Cohen Theobald (non-voting); and Chief Relationship Officer Hans Weichhart (non-voting). President Gai Laing Jones is an ex officio member.