Scholarship and grant recipients for 2016 announced

Scholarship and grant recipients for 2016 announced

May 9, 2016

The Educational Theatre Association has awarded six student from five states Thespian scholarships to recognize their outstanding achievement in a high school theatre program and to support their ongoing theatre education in college. Four theatre educators and EdTA members received grants to attend the 2016 EdTA National Conference to be held in September in Las Vegas, Nevada.

William Barney from Troupe 1096 at Durango High School in Colorado received the Austin Yeatman Technical Theatre Scholarship, a one-time $1,000 scholarship for a graduating senior studying technical theatre in college. William will attend the University of North Carolina School of the Arts and major in sound design.

The Jhon Marshall/International Thespian Officers’ Outstanding Student Achievement Scholarship, a $1,000 scholarship awarded to two graduating seniors who exemplify the ideals of the International Thespian Society, went to Samah Meghjee from Thespian troupe 3266 at Seminole High School in Florida and Sarah Welton from Thespian troupe 3761 at Highland High School in Medina, Ohio. Samah plans to attend Emory University to study English and creative writing. Sarah will attend Kent State University and study secondary education in English and theatre.

Brian Chiou, from Thespian troupe 5440 at Dublin Scioto High School in Dublin, Ohio, received the Bob and Marti Fowler Future Theatre Educator Scholarship which is awarded to a student pursuing a theatre education major in college. Brian plans to study theatre education at Ohio Wesleyan University.

The Christopher L. Hunt Scholarship is a $1,000 scholarship created with donations in honor of the late Chris Hunt, Director of Marketing at EdTA and intended for inducted Thespians who plan to use skills learned through theatre in a career focused on business or marketing. Bridget Harris from Thespian troupe 5273 from Las Vegas Academy of the Arts in Nevada was the first recipient. She plans to study acting and arts management.

Samantha Weathersby from Thespian troupe 5151 from Silver Creek High School in Charlestown, Indiana was the recipient of the Educational Theatre Association Presidents’ Leadership Scholarship, a $1,000 scholarship created with donations from and in honor of past and current EdTA board presidents. This scholarship is intended for inducted Thespians who successfully demonstrated leadership abilities. She will attend Shenandoah Conservatory and study musical theatre.

The following theatre educators received the Educational Theatre Association’s National Conference Grants for Theatre Educators: Dean Feldman, a professional member from Suwanee, Georgia; Kristin Lundberg, director of Thespian troupe 1392 at Socastee High School in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina; Kristi Jacobs-Stanley, director of Thespian troupe 2075 at Mt. Caramel Academy in New Orleans, Louisiana, and Thomas Lupfer, director of Thespian troupe 7427 at Pascack Valley High School in Hillsdale, New Jersey.