Voting underway in EdTA Board election

Voting underway in EdTA Board election

August 12, 2016

Online voting is underway in the Educational Theatre Association’s 2016 election and will continue until the organization’s annual membership meeting at the EdTA National Conference in Las Vegas next month.

Members will select a new vice president-president and two new board members, and will approve or reject three revisions to the EdTA Code of Regulations.

Candidates for vice president-president are Matt Conover of Glendale, California; Gai Jones of Ojai, California; and Pat Santanello of Dublin, Ohio. The winner will serve a two-year term in each of the EdTA board’s top leadership positions.

Five candidates are running for two open seats on the Board of Directors. They are Krista Carson Elhai, Claremont, California; Richard Frazier, Warner Robins, Georgia; Philip Goodchild, Ruskin, Florida; David Tate Hastings, Olathe, Kansas; and Nicole Morgan, Houston, Texas.

More on each of the candidates can be found here, and their responses to an election questionnaire are available in the 2016 Election Library.

The three amendments to the EdTA Code are largely housekeeping measures. One redefines and updates the duties of the EdTA board treasurer and secretary, and creates a new position of assistant secretary for the executive director. One defines the term “ex officio” as used in the code, clarifying that ex officio committee members have voting privileges. The third corrects an oversight in the language describing the composition of the Nominating Committee.

The full texts of the code revisions are available in the 2016 Election Library.

Eligible voters should receive voting instructions via email on August 12, followed by hard copy in regular mail. Voting will close on September 16 at 10:00 a.m. PDT, during the 2016 EdTA National Conference in Las Vegas.