Get to know 2016 board candidates

Get to know 2016 board candidates

July 5, 2016

The slate of candidates for the 2016 Educational Theatre Association Board of Directors election has been finalized.

The filing period for ballot petitions has expired without any petitions having been filed. Thus the ballot will carry the eight names put forward by the EdTA Nominating Committee--three for president/vice president and five running for two director seats.

The election will begin on August 12 by way of online balloting. All members in good standing as of August 5 will be eligible to vote. Members will receive voting instructions via email on August 12 and by regular mail shortly thereafter. Voting will close on September 16 at 10:00 a.m. PDT, during the 2016 EdTA National Conference in Las Vegas.

The candidates are:

Candidates for vice president/president

Matt Conover, Glendale, California. Member and treasurer of the EdTA board since 2008. As project design and delivery executive for Walt Disney Imagineering-Creative Entertainment, he is responsible for all entertainment design, technical development, and production for Disney Parks and Resorts around the world.
Gai Jones, Ojai, California. Theatre educator and director at the high school and college levels since 1964, including thirty-four years at El Dorado High School, Placentia, California, where she directed the Thespian troupe. She is currently a member of the EdTA board, and is a former California chapter director. She is the author of Raising the Curtain: Activities for the Theatre Arts Classroom.
Pat Santanello, Dublin, Ohio. Teacher and director of theatre at Dublin Scioto High School since 1995. Previously taught theatre, English, and speech at schools in Groveport and Lancaster, Ohio. Member of the EdTA board 2002-05; current Ohio chapter director. Pilot teacher in the development of model cornerstone assessments for the new National Core Arts Theatre Standards.

Candidates for board director 

Krista Carson Elhai, Claremont, California. Member of the EdTA board since 2014; California chapter director 2003-14. She began teaching theatre at Hemet High School, where she chartered the Thespian troupe in 1984, and has taught at Claremont High School since 1994. Member of the College Board’s National Arts Advisory Panel. 
Richard Frazier, Warner Robins, Georgia. Current board member, appointed in December 2015 to complete an unexpired term. Thespian troupe director, choreographer, and teacher of drama and dance at Northside High School in Warner Robins. Georgia state chapter board member and Georgia Junior Thespian Conference coordinator.

Phillip Goodchild, Ruskin, Florida. Has taught theatre, technical theatre, and creative writing and directed the Thespian troupe at Lennard High School since 2009. Teacher training consultant, facilitator, and board member of the Tampa Bay Area Writing Project at the University of South Florida. Actor, director, playwright, and published writer of short fiction. 
David Tate Hastings, Olathe, Kansas. Co-chapter director for Kansas Thespians. Since 2002, has taught theatre at Olathe South High School, which won EdTA’s Outstanding School Award in 2013; previously he taught drama, communications, and electronic media at the middle school level, and before entering the teaching profession worked as a retail banker for several years.  
Nicole Morgan, Houston, Texas. Has been a theatre teacher for twenty-four years; director of theatre arts and Thespian troupe director at Memorial Senior High School in Houston since 2000. Vice president of the Texas Thespian board; lead director, responsible for curriculum for middle and high school theatre arts, for her school district.

A compilation of the candidates’ responses to an election questionnaire can be found in the 2016 Election Library.