2013 Award recipients announced

April 25, 2013

After careful consideration by a team of volunteer judges, the Educational Theatre Association is ready to announce the 2013 award recipients.

“All of this year’s nominees demonstrated their ability to ‘act well their part,’ resulting in a competitive pool of applicants and difficult decisions for our judging committees,” Ginny Butsch, awards administrator, said. “It is inspiring to read about all that our individual members and Thespian troupes are accomplishing to improve the world of theatre education.”

Recipients will be presented an award at Thespian Festival 2013 in Lincoln, Nebraska this June, and Hall of Fame inductees will be honored at the 2013 EdTA Annual Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota this September.


Administrator’s Award
Banks Bitterman, Troupe 2971, Buford High School, Buford, Georgia
John Brewington, Troupes 3178 and 2326, Virginia Beach Public Schools, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Rick McDaniel, Troupe 7052, McKinney Boyd High School, McKinney, Texas

Hall of Fame
E. Frank Bluestein, Germantown, Tennessee
Michael Fisher, Springfield, Oregon
Jeff Nienhueser, LaVista, Nebraska
Leslie Van Leishout, Olympia, Washington
Bob Singleton, Houston, Texas

Honorary Thespian of the Year
Michelle Bidart, Troupe 6737, Spanish Springs High School, Sparks, Nevada
Alan Malcom, Troupe 1338, Jonesboro High School, Jonesboro, Arkansas
Kim Nupp, Troupe 984, Liberty High Schools, Sykesville, Maryland

Inspirational Theatre Educator Award
Billy Dragoo, Troupe 1747, Stephen F. Austin High School, Austin, Texas
Richard Hogle, Troupe 88005, Albuquerque Academy, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Chad Little, Troupe 4551, Parkway North High School, St. Louis, Missouri

Outstanding School Award
Akron School for the Arts, Troupe 5570, Akron, Ohio
Ashland High School, Troupe 4630, Ashland, Oregon
Centerville High School, Troupe 2204, Centerville, Ohio
Labette County High School, Troupe 6290, Altamont, Kansas
Liberty High School, Troupe 984, Sykesville, Maryland
Liberty High School, Troupe 6730, Hendersonville, Nevada
Northwest School of the Arts, Troupe 5634, Charlotte, North Carolina
Olathe South High School, Troupe 5006, Olathe, Kansas
Pomona High School, Troupe 4203, Arvada, Colorado

Spirit of Thespis Award
Edgewood Jr./Sr. High School, Troupe 6616, Merritt Island, Florida